*

ogham stone.jpg

WHEN IRISH EYES ARE SMILING…

In the First to Sixth Centuries Ogham was the Early Medieval alphabet used to write the Irish language according to Google. However, nothing remotely algorithmically happened the day I went on my quest to find an Ogham Stone in Western Ireland.

Traveling through rural counties I came upon a small store that sold basic goods and asked the clerk about the Ogham stones. An elderly Irishman standing nearby ushered me aside asking, “So you want to be seein’ the Ogham Stones do you?” as if I said the magic word to open a magical door. He then proceeded to take pen in hand and draw a map on a piece of paper with signpost lines of  fields and mountains and streams to lead me toward my destination.

Driving through the vast countryside I started to doubt where I was going until I came upon an old, small country churchyard cemetery filled with worn religious gravestones.

And… there it was. Among them. An ancient Ogham Stone carved in hieroglyphic language with a hole near the top- the Marriage Stone where two people soon to be betrothed could touch fingers through it on either side.

I was so excited to find it, I immediately whipped out my camera – long before digital, yet younger than the Ogham Stone. The sky quickly darkened, turning black as a storm blew over the graveyard. A blinding Irish rain fell hard and fast obscuring everything in sight. With my camera light meter not even registering a glimmer of hope, I decided to point the lens, now plastered with raindrops, at the Ogham Stone to humor myself for even finding this desolate place, and snapped one picture.

Upon returning home and developing the photos of my trip, this photo of the Oghan Stone was among them. No black sky, no sight of storm or blinding rain… simply the Marriage Ogham Stone as mystical and mysterious as Ireland.

Leave a Reply

